in spring 1964, when Volga-Baltic Waterway was deepened and modernized, the water plane in Lake Beloye had risen, enabling passage of heavy tonnage ships and leaving ancient villages and entire lives sunken. The inhabitants of the flooded territories disassembled their homes and moved, with the Church of Nativity of Christ being left in the abandoned land.

The Church of Nativity of Christ in the village of Krokhino is a unique historical and cultural monument. The church of Krokhino was constructed in late XVIII century by the side of Lake Beloye, at Sheksna River outlet, and presently remains the only Russian church-on-the-water, surviving after vast territories were flooded during the construction of Volga-Baltic Waterway.

This monument is multifaceted, since the Church of Nativity of Christ and the village of Krokhino are:

       ◊   historical gateway into the ancient lands surrounding Lake Beloye, a symbol of formation of the Russian nationhood at this waterway crossroad, and of Christianity in the Russian North;
       ◊   a homage to people resettled from the flooded territory, holy places destroyed, churches and monasteries demolished;
       ◊   a prominent part of archeological heritage of the ancient IX century town of Beloozero and XIV century Krokhino suburb;
       ◊  vast potential of Krokhino for tourism, due to its location at popular water touring route Knowing Russian North Moscow - Saint Petersburg Moscow, coursed by hundreds of ships and many thousands of tourists and pilgrims every year.

Therefore, significance of the Church of Nativity of Christ resides not only in its architecture, but primarily in its history and spirit. The project of preservation and restoration of the Church of Nativity of Christ in Krokhino (Byelozersky District of Vologda Region) combines a number of historical, cultural and social endeavors related to various eras, events and persons.

The goal of the project is to preserve and restore the Church of Nativity of Christ in Krokhino, which is the embodiment of the history of the flooded settlements and Ancient North, and to develop the touring potential of Krokhino as a unique historical and cultural place of Russia.

For further information regarding to the Project Development Schedule, Technical Concept of the Project, and the expert opinions of the competent bodies and other Documents please see the corresponding sections.

 

How often, when passing scenic historical places, we take a memento photo Sailing by the Church of Nativity of Christ standing on water for five decades, over half million tourists got to see, examine and capture it.

Just imagine: amidst the water mirror a white colossal church emerges, how could it be here, maybe just a vision? Then understanding comes: the church is real, and flooded.

Just a few more years pass and the majority of forgotten and decrepit churches in Russia will become shapeless ruins beyond repair. Each time turning our backs on another timeworn historical building, mansion or church, we expect someone else to take care of them. That object is not our own, it belongs to the public, so theres nothing wrong in passing by, is it? And what will we show and tell our children about the ancient places and towns? Most likely nothing but those photos made long time ago in the places already non-existent

The Church of Nativity of Christ in Krokhino and other surviving historical buildings represent unique efforts and labors of our predecessors, worthy of utmost respect. The time has come for us to take maintenance of the monuments of history on ourselves, for we all represent the society responsible for our own cultural legacy.

By combining our efforts we will manage to preserve our history!

 

Director of Charitable foundation Centre of cultural

heritage rebirth Krokhino, Tukayeva A.R.

 

Total funds received by Jan 5, 2017:

319 540

Total sum to raise for the development of the project and for the creation of a conservation framework for the belltower:

700 000

You can help:

Donate

 

     

 
 

Charitable foundation

Centre of cultural heritage rebirth Krokhino

Contact person | Anor Tukayeva

Phone | +7 (926) 254-28-92

Email | mail@krokhino.ru

 

rus

…весной 1964 г. при создании глубоководного Волго-Балтийского канала уровень воды в Белом озере поднялся, обеспечив необходимую глубину для прохождения судов, а под воду ушли древние села и целая жизнь... Жители затопленных территорий разобрали свои дома и переселились, а на брошенной земле осталась церковь Рождества Христова…

Храм Рождества Христова в Крохино — уникальный памятник. Крохинская церковь была построена в конце XVIII века у самого берега Белого озера, у истока реки Шексны, а ныне - единственный в России храм на воде, сохранившийся после затопления огромных территорий при строительстве Волго-Балта.

Многогранность этого памятника заключается в том, что Христорождественский храм и Крохино — это:

       ◊   исторические «ворота» в древнее Белозерье, символ зарождения российской государственности на перекрестке водных путей и Христианства;
       ◊   дань памяти погибшим и переселенным с затопленных территорий, уничтоженным святыням, взорванным церквям и монастырям;
       ◊   яркое археологическое наследие древнего города Белоозеро IX века и Крохинского посада XIV века;
       ◊  огромный туристический потенциал Крохино, расположенного на популярном водном маршруте «Знакомство с Русским Севером» Москва — Санкт-Петербург — Москва, по которому проходят сотни судов и десятки тысяч туристов и паломников ежегодно.

Таким образом, ценность храма Рождества Христова составляют не только его Архитектура, но, прежде всего, Духовность и История.

Проект сохранения и возрождения церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино (Белозерский район Вологодской области) объединяет в себе несколько историко-культурных и социальных направлений, связанных с различными эпохами, событиями и личностями.

Цель проекта — сохранение и возрождение церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино, олицетворяющей историю затопленных поселений и Древнего Севера, развитие туристического потенциала Крохино как уникального историко-культурного объекта России.

Ознакомиться с Планом развития проекта, Технической концепцией проекта, а также с экспертными заключениями профильных учреждений и иными Документами можно в соответствующих разделах.

 

Как часто мы, проезжая мимо красивых исторических мест, делаем на память фотографию... Проплывая мимо церкви Рождества Христова, стоящей в воде на протяжении 50 лет, более полумиллиона туристов увидели ее, успели запечатлеть и рассмотреть.

Только представьте, посреди водной глади внезапно возникает светлая громада храма, — откуда он здесь, может, привиделось? Потом, конечно понимаешь, храм — настоящий и… затопленный…

Пройдет еще несколько лет, и большинство забытых и полуразрушенных храмов России превратятся в бесформенные руины, не подлежащие восстановлению. Каждый раз, отворачиваясь от очередного разрушенного исторического здания, усадьбы, храма, мы думаем, что кто-то другой о них позаботится. Ведь это здание — не наше, оно общественное, значит можно пройти мимо. Но что мы покажем и расскажем о старинных землях и городах своим детям? Наверное, те самые фотографии, сделанные много лет назад, в местах, которых уже нет на карте…

Церковь Рождества Христова в Крохино и другие сохранившиеся до наших дней исторические постройки — это уникальный труд наших предков, достойный глубочайшего уважения. Пришло время, когда нам самим необходимо думать о сохранении памятников истории. Ведь мы с вами и есть — то самое общество, которое должно заботить о культурном наследии.

Объединив наши усилия, мы сможем сохранить нашу историю!

 

Руководитель Проекта сохранения и возрождения

церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино, Тукаева А.Р.

 

на 14 декабря 2014 года собрано:

87 915

Для разработки проекта и изготовления консервационного каркаса колокольни требуется:

300 000

Вы можете помочь:

Перевести

 

     

 
 

Благотворительный фонд

«Центр возрождения

культурного наследия «Крохино»

Контактное лицо | Анор Тукаева

Телефон | +7 (926) 254-28-92

Электронная почта | krokhino-cerkov@yandex.ru

 

eng