The Project for preservation and restoration of the Church of Nativity of Christ in Krokhino was started in March 2009 after return from an expedition to Belozersk District.

In September 2009 a consultative Project team was formed including representatives of the Civic Chamber of the Russian Federation, the state Institute for Arts Science, the Institute for Archeology of the Russian Academy of Science, the D.S. Likhachev Institute for Historical and Natural Legacy and other organizations.

In parallel, the first Internet community of Project volunteers was established comprising people of various Russian cities (Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Vologda, Cherepovets, Belozersk, Saratov and others) united by the idea of preservation and restoration of the unique flooded Church of Nativity of Christ in Krokhino.
Since 2013 we also started a new direction in our volunteer activity – organization of gratis work events together with local inhabitants for clean-up and emergency response operations in abandoned churches of Belozersk District.
The Project volunteers including an expert architect-restorer and engineers of various specializations take part in unrequited counter-emergency work or provide organizational support to the Project (preparation of photo exhibitions, design and development, web-site support, etc.).

Results of the work performed since March 2009.

Organizational part of implementation of the Project:
- gathering of historical and archive information on the Church of Nativity of Christ in Krokhino;
- study of successful efforts for preservation of Kalyazin bell-tower of Saint Nicholas Monastery in Kalyazin, Tver Region, which was flooded during construction of Volga-Baltic Waterway in 1939 (bunding and restoration of the bell-tower were carried out in late 80s of XX century);
- consultations in the Ministry of Culture of RF, Rosokhrankultura, FGBNIU “State Institute of Art”, the Institute for Archeology of the RAS and others;
- obtaining of expert opinions of the competent bodies concerning historical, architectural and cultural significance of the Church of Nativity of Christ;
- examination of physical condition of the Church of Nativity of Christ, depth measurements, hydrographic measurements made by engineers-hydrogeologists of the Project Research Company “Geological Engineering of Historical Territories”, who in particular were involved into the activities for fortification of flooded Kalyazin bell-tower, preparation of the Expert opinion regarding feasibility and methods of restoration of flooded structure of the Church of Nativity of Christ and development of the Plan for primary counter-emergency operations;
- start of proper Internet site of the Project, http://www.krokhino.ru/;
- establishment of Charity Fund “Center for Restoration of Cultural Legacy “Krokhino” (current functioning of the fund is supported by gratuitous work of the volunteers – director and accountant).

 

Counter-emergency operations:
- during the period 2011 – 2013 the Project leader organized over 15 volunteer trips in which over 120 volunteers took part. The purpose of the trips was to carry out counter-emergency work in the Church of Nativity of Christ and other churches of Belozersk Districts. An expert architect-restorer, stonemason and volunteers from Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Vologda, Cherepovets and Belozersk took part in these trips.
- in the course of volunteer trips, by efforts of the volunteers an artificial dam was constructed in Krokhino, protecting the church from harmful effects of waves and ice, buttress at northern part of the bell-tower porch was erected, masonwork in the walls hollowed out by water was restored in the southern part of the church, leads were installed to monitor the deformations of the church, laying of a hiking trail to the church for pilgrims and tourists was started, etc.
- four joint work events together with local residents were organized in the Church of Nativity of the Mother of God in the village of Sadovaya and in the Church of of Nativity of the Mother of God on Lozskoe Lake.

Public and media activities:
- organization and holding of meetings and discussions of the Project within the Project team, in the club of the Architectural Supervision, in the Cultural Center of the Higher School of Economics – National Research University (roundtable discussions “Cultural Legacy Preservation: Public Project”), hearings of the RF Civic Chamber Committee for Culture and Preservation of Historical and Cultural Legacy, and others;
- carrying out of charity activities in support of the Project at Skryabin Memorial Museum (Moscow) and Vologda club (Vologda), at charity exhibitions and fairs;
- photo exhibition “Towns under Water” created in the framework of the Project was presented in the Vologda Region Representative Office at the President and Government of the Russian Federation, in the Catherine Palace of Moscow (Frunze Cultural Center of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation), the Cultural Center of the HSE – NRU, the Civic Chamber of the Russian Federation, the Moscow Architectural Institute Museum, the Trading and Entertainment Center “Golden Babylon”, the Exhibition hall of Belozersk Library, the Exhibition hall of Belozersk Local History Museum, in the “Ziferblat” Free Space rooms, and others;
- in the period 2010 to 2013 two scenic projects were created for support of the Project: theatrical performance about Krokhino suburb history by creative team “Kult-Art-Surikaty” and performance by Saratov “Theatre where Children Act Against All Odds” titled “Bellmen or History not for a Test”, presented and shown in Moscow, Saratov, Vologda and Belozersk;
- publishing of a series of articles and columns about the Project in various print media of Moscow and Vologda, as well as in various web-media (over 30 publications);
- participation in TV broadcasts on Channel One Russia, “Soyuz” Channel, Vologda TV, participation in production of Leonid Parfenov’s film “Russia in Bloom” about S.M. Prokudin-Gorsky’s legacy (premier screening of the film took place in June 2014 on Channel One Russia).

 

 


It is worth noting, that regardless of availability or absence of funds necessary to carry out the outlined Plan of development, the goals, objectives and basic principles of implementation of the Project for preservation and restoration of the Church on Nativity of Christ remain unchanged. These include transparency of financial expenses and absence of personal vested interests of the participants.

Krokhino is a genuine shrine which, by its existence, sets an example of Love, Goodness and Light. We will manage to preserve all of this if we work honestly, doing our best.

If knowing about our Project you get interested in saving and restoring the unique Church of Nativity of Christ, and probably be willing to take your part in it, we would be happy. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 
   

Why Krokhino?

A project of this kind is always a cause pro anima and ex anima, being a personal choice of every being. Anyone who engages in charity, be it social activities to alleviate the problems of children or elder people, environmental protection or tending to homeless animals, does it irrationally and emotionally driven – by love.

When we hear an occasional outsider’s comment or reproachful remark that we put our efforts in saving a church in Krokhino (“You should have paid more attention to ) we want to explain our choice using an illustrative example like this: say, you walk in a street suddenly noticing that a person next to you suffers an attack, you stop to provide help, then look around and realize that there is nobody in the street nearby, and you cannot leave the sufferer alone, because in this very second you are responsible for him/her, and moreover – you both are emotionally bound now. What would your reply be, if some bystander told you that someone else in the neighborhood needs help too, and he/she is younger or prettier, easier to help, so abandon this one and run there, quick?

So, our choice is made – made by love. We, the volunteers, cannot abandon the church in Krokhino and fully engage in something else: we realize our responsibility for its fate and we have feelings. Those who travel to Krokhino to visit the Church of Nativity of Christ either become inspired by its Angel, or see no church at all, seeing “decrepit ruins” instead. The former return over and over again trying to make their contribution, the latter – keep passing by.

 

What we have:

We have a website, a number of communities in social media and the Live Journal. All activities of the fund, including financial, are carried out by volunteer specialists unrequited, with no office or other material basis required.

 

How will we use donations not exceeding 500 RUB?

The donations from 100 and up to 500 RUB shall be spent mostly for procurement and delivery of building materials and other insignificant volunteer trips. We plan to use more significant donations to fund the engineering survey work, reinforce the substructure and other tasks.

 
 


 

 

Charitable foundation

“Centre of cultural heritage rebirth “Krokhino”

 

Contact person | Anor Tukayeva

Phone | +7 (926) 254-28-92

Email | mail@krokhino.ru

 

rus

Проект по сохранению и возрождению церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино стартовал в марте 2009 года, после возвращения из экспедиции по Белозерью.

В сентябре 2009 г. была создана консультативная рабочая группа Проекта, в которую вошли представители Общественной палаты РФ, Института Искусствознания, Института археологии РАН, Института культурного и природного наследия им. Д.С. Лихачева и другие.

Параллельно было создано первое Интернет-сообщество волонтеров по Проекту из разных городов России (Москва, Санкт-Петербург, Вологда, Череповец, Белозерск, Саратов и др.), объединенных идеей сохранения и возрождения уникального затопленного храма Рождества Христова в Крохино.
С 2013 года мы также открыли новое направление нашей волонтерской деятельности – организация совместных субботников с местными жителями по проведению уборки территории и противоаварийным работам в заброшенных храмах Белозерья.
Волонтеры Проекта, в том числе профессиональный архитектор-реставратор и инженеры различных специальностей, принимают безвозмездное участие в противоаварийных работах, или поддерживают проект организационно (подготовка фотовыставки, разработка дизайна, сопровождение сайта и пр.).

Итоги проведенных работ в период с марта 2009 года.

В организационной сфере реализации Проекта:
- сбор исторических и архивных данных о церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино;
- исследование успешного опыта сохранения Калязинской колокольни Николаевского собора в г. Калязине Тверской области, затопленной при строительсве Волго-Балта в 1939 г. (обваловка и восстановление колокольни произведены в конце 80-х гг. ХХ в.);
- проведение консультаций в Министерстве культуры РФ, Росохранкультуре, ФГНИУ «Государственный институт искусствознания», Институте Археологии РАН и др.;
- получение экспертных заключений профильных институтов об историко-архитектурной и культурной ценности церкви Рождества Христова;
- проведение обследования технического состояния церкви Рождества Христова, измерение глубин и выполнение замеров инженерами-гидрогеологами проектно-изыскательской компании «Инженерная Геология Исторических Территорий», которые, в частности, занимались комплексом работ по укреплению затопленной Калязинской колокольни, подготовка Экспертного заключения о возможности и путях восстановления здания затопленной церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино, а также разработка Плана первоочередных противоаварийных работ;
- запуск собственного Интернет-сайта проекта http://www.krokhino.ru/;
- учреждение Благотворительного фонда «Центр возрождения культурного наследия «Крохино» (текущая работа фонда обеспечивается безвозмездной работой волонтеров – директора и бухгалтера).

 

В сфере противоаварийных работ:
- за сезон 2011 - 2013 гг. руководителем проекта были организованы более 15 волонтерских поездок общей численностью более 120 человек с целью проведения противоаварийных работ в церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино и других храмахБелозерского района. В этих поездках приняли участие профессиональный архитектор-реставратор, каменщик и волонтеры из Москвы, Санкт-Петербурга, Вологды, Череповца и Белозерска.
- в ходе волонтерских поездок силами волонтеров в Крохино была построена рукотворная дамба, защищающая храм от воздействия волн и льда, возведен контрфорс к северной части паперти колокольни, восстановлена кладка в подмытой части стен с южной стороны храма, установлены маяки для контроля за деформациями здания, начато обустройство пешей тропы к храму для паломников и туристов и др.
- организованы четыре совместных субботника с местными жителями в храме Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы в д. Садовая и в храме Рождества Богородицы на Лозском озере.

В сфере общественных медийных мероприятий:
- организация и проведение встреч и обсуждений Проекта в составе Рабочей группы, клубе АрхНадзора, Культурном центре НИУ-ВШЭ (круглый стол «Сохранение культурного наследия: общественный проект»), на слушаниях Комиссии Общественной палаты РФ по культуре и сохранению историко-культурного наследия и пр.;
- проведение благотворительных мероприятий в поддержку Проекта в Мемориальном музее А.Н. Скрябина (г. Москва) и Вологодском клубе (г. Вологда), благотворительных выставках и ярмарках;
- презентации фотовыставки «Города под водой», созданной в рамках Проекта, в Представительстве Вологодской области при Президенте и Правительстве Российской Федерации, Екатерининском Дворце (Культурный центр Вооруженных сил Российской Федерации имени М.В. Фрунзе), Культурном центре НИУ ВШЭ, Общественной палате Российской Федерации, Музее МАРХИ, ТРЦ «Золотой Вавилон», Выставочном зале Белозерской библиотеки, Выставочном зале Белозерского краеведческого музея, в залах Свободного пространства «Циферблат» и др.;
- в период с 2010 по 2013 гг. в поддержку проекта были созданы два сценических проекта - театрализованное представление об истории посада Крохино от творческой команды Культ-Арт-Сурикаты, и спектакль Саратовского Театра, Где Играют Дети «НЕСМОТРЯ НИ НА ЧТО» под названием «Звонари или История не на оценку», представленный и показанный в Москве, Саратове, Вологде и Белозерске;
- публикация серий заметок и публикаций о Проекте в печатных изданиях Москвы и Вологды, а также в различных Интернет-изданиях (более 30 публикаций);
- участие в телерепортажах на Первом канале, телеканале «Союз», вологодском телевидении, участие в съемках фильма Леонида Парфёнова «Цвет нации» о наследии С.М. Прокудина-Горского (премьера фильма ожидается в 2014 году на Первом канале).

 

 


Важно отметить, что при наличии финансовых средств, необходимых для реализации намеченного плана развития, равно, как и при их отсутствии, цели, задачи и основные принципы осуществления Проекта сохранения и возрождения церкви Рождества Христова в Крохино, а именно чистота и прозрачность финансовых расходов, а также отсутствие личных корыстных целей участников проекта, будут неизменными.

Крохино – это настоящая святыня, своим существованием дающая нам пример Любви, Доброты и Света. В наших силах – сохранить всё это, работая искренне и с полной отдачей.

Мы будем рады, если узнав о нашем Проекте, вы заинтересуетесь сохранением и возрождением уникальной церкви Рождества Христова, и, возможно, захотите принять в нем посильное участие!

 
   

Почему именно Крохино?

Подобный проект – это всегда дело для души и от души, личный выбор каждого человека. Все, кто занимаются благотворительностью, будь то социальная сфера с проблемами детей и людей пожилого возраста, или экология, или бездомные животные, делают его иррационально и эмоционально, - по любви.

Слыша от сторонних людей замечание или упрёк за то, что мы занимаемся спасением крохинского храма («А вы бы лучше взялись за…»), хочется объяснить этот выбор на условном жизненном примере. Скажем, идете вы по улице, а человеку рядом с вами становиться плохо, вы останавливаетесь, чтобы оказать ему помощь, затем оглядываетесь и понимаете, что кроме вас на улице никого нет, и оставить страдающего одного вы не можете, так как в эту секунду вы уже ответственны за него, более того – между вами уже зародилась эмоциональная связь. А что бы вы ответили, оказавшись на той пустынной улице, стороннему наблюдателю, который бы упрекнул вас, мол, как же так, на соседней улице другой человек тоже нуждается в помощи, да он к тому же моложе и симпатичнее, и ему гораздо проще помочь, меньше усилий потребуется…, бросай того и беги в другое место…?

Так и наш выбор – сделан по любви. Оставить крохинский храм и полностью переключиться на другой проект мы, волонтеры, не можем, - есть ответственность за его судьбу, и есть чувства. Те, кто приезжают в Крохино к храму Рождества Христова либо проникаются его Ангелом, либо не видит храма вовсе, называя его «бесформенными руинами». Первые - возвращаются сюда вновь и стараются внести свою лепту в этот проект, вторые – проходят мимо.

 

Чем мы располагаем?

У нас есть сайт, группы в социальных сетях и Живой Журнал. При этом вся деятельность фонда, в том числе бухгалтерская, ведется специалистами-волонтерами безвозмездно и не требует наличия офиса или других материальных основ.

 

Как будем расходовать пожертвования в размере до 500 рублей?

Пожертвования в размере от 100 до 500 руб. мы потратим, прежде всего, на закупку и транспортировку строительных материалов или другие незначительные расходы волонтерских поездок. Более значительные пожертвования мы планируем расходовать на проведение инженерных изысканий, укрепление фундамента храма и пр.

 

 

Благотворительный фонд

«Центр возрождения

культурного наследия «Крохино»

Контактное лицо | Анор Тукаева

Телефон | +7 (926) 254-28-92

Электронная почта | mail@krokhino.ru

 

eng